Ain’t nothing common about this

In what can be described as a shot in the arm for the publishing industry in India,

Four Indian authors have been nominated for this year’s Commonwealth Writers’ Prize.

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize is sponsored and administered by the Commonwealth Foundation with the support of the Macquarie Foundation in the Europe South Asia, South East Asia and South Pacific regions. The Commonwealth Foundation is an intergovernmental body working to help civil society organisations promote democracy, development and cultural understanding in Commonwealth countries.

The objectives of the prize are to promote new voices, reward achievement, encourage wider readership and greater literacy, thereby increasing appreciation of different cultures and building understanding between cultures.

Under the Best Book (South Asia and Europe) category, the nominated authors are:

while in the Best First Book Category, we have

No less than 12 authors from India – commencing with Nayanatara Sahgal in 1987 to Indra Sinha in 2008 – have won the Commonwealth Writers’ prize.

Amit Chaudhuri has won the CW prizer earlier in 1992 under the ‘Best First Book’ category for his book ‘A Strange and Sublime Address.’

Jhumpa Lahiri – Indian by origin but British by birth, won the Best Book CW prize in 2009 for ‘Unaccustomed Earth.’

April 12th will be the announcement of the winners. Watch this space.