And the prize goes to…

Well, you will have to wait a little longer for that.

The folks behind the Jaipur Literature Festival – DSC Limited – have announced the institution of  the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature and carries a prize of $50,000 for the winner.

The prize is for a work of fiction, published between April 1, 2009 and March 31, 2010 and “can be written by an author of any ethnicity from any country which predominantly features themes based on South Asia.”

Nilanjana S. Roy, who is also one of the jury, said: “The content and not the nationality of the writer is important. Any writer — be it Dutch or an American — is eligible for the prize. The only qualification necessary is that the book should be set in South Asia, feature South Asian characters or has a deep allusion to the varied history and culture of South Asia.”

The longlist in full:

Upamanyu Chatterjee: Way To Go (Penguin),
Amit Chaudhuri: The Immortals (Picador India),
Chandrahas Choudhury: Arzee the Dwarf (HarperCollins),
Musharraf Ali Farooqui: The Story of a Widow (Picador India),
Ru Freeman: A Disobedient Girl (Viking),
Anjum Hassan: Neti Neti (IndiaInk/ Roli Books),
Tania James: Atlas of Unknowns (Pocket Books),
Manju Kapur: The Immigrant (Faber),
Daniyal Muennuddin: In Other Rooms, Other Wonders (Bloomsbury),
Neel Mukherjee: A Life Apart (Constable & Robinson),
H M Naqvi: Home Boy (HarperCollins),
Salma: The Hour Past Midnight (Zubaan, translated by Lakshmi Holmstrom),
Sankar: The Middleman (Penguin, translated by Arunava Sinha),
Ali Sethi: The Wish Maker (Penguin),
Jaspreet Singh: Chef (Bloomsbury),
Aatish Taseer: The Temple Goers (Viking)

The shortlist of five or six writers will be announced at London, at the DSC South Asian Literature Festival in October.

The winner of DSC Prize for South Asian Literature would be announced in January 2011 at next year’s Jaipur Literature festival.

Stay booked….er, tuned here for the grand announcement!